Each state has their own rules and regulations when it comes to medical cannabis. State to state differences can vary slightly or drastically across the country, and anyone looking to relocate or provide information on the topic should be well informed. Here is a quick look at some differences between states in New England that offer medical cards for residents who are diagnosed with a qualifying condition by a licensed physician.
Residents can obtain a medical card for an annual fee of $50 from a properly registered physician or nurse. A Massachusetts medical card allows patients to possess up to 10 ounces of cannabis flower in a 60-day period. This amount can be increased at the discretion of a doctor on a case by case basis. The home cultivation laws here are a little peculiar, as a med card holder may only grow their own plants if certain circumstances deemed a ‘hardship’, financial or otherwise, prevents them from purchasing cannabis at a dispensary. If approved for a hardship exception, it is legal to grow 6 plants per individual or 12 per residence. Card holders may also possess no more than 5 grams of concentrate or products containing 5 grams. Massachusetts does not have a reciprocity law.
Maine first allowed medical cannabis use in 1999, one of the first states to do so. This card allows the holder to possess up to 2.5 ounces of flower at any time. Patients can also grow and cultivate up to 6 mature plants at a time. Although 6 mature plants may yield more than the legal possession limit of 2.5 ounces, med card holders must be sure not to transport or possess more than that limit at any time. There is a limit of 5 grams total THC content for edibles and concentrates per day. Maine has a reciprocity law in place.
Once becoming valid card holders, residents are allowed to possess up to 2 ounces of cannabis flower. Medical users can also grow 2 mature plants and 7 immature plants at a time. Patients are allowed to transport cannabis only in a locked container. The law on edibles and concentrates is currently complicated as the 2-ounce possession limit also applies to cannabis-infused products while the state lacks any way to measure that amount. Vermont does not have a reciprocity law.